News - Preview October  26, 2021

Louisiana Champions Day Set for Saturday at Fair Grounds

Lassie Futurity(RG2) winner Sheza Freighttrain T has been set as the 7-5 morning-line favorite Louisiana Champions Day Juvenile Stakes(RG2) at the Fair Grounds Racecourse Saturday.

© Hodges Photography / Ann Switalski


NEW ORLEANS, LA—DECEMBER 7, 2020—Three Quarter Horse stakes are on tap when Fair Grounds Racecourse hosts its annual Louisiana Champions Day program on Saturday.

Post time for the first of 13 races, the 350-yard, $100,000 Louisiana Champions Day Juvenile Stakes (RG2), is set for 12 p.m. (CST).

Patrick Richardson’s Sheza Freighttrain T, the 7-5 morning-line favorite, heads a field of a dozen state-bred 2-year-olds in the Louisiana Champions Day Juvenile Stakes. A brown daughter of Freighttrain B and a $50,000 purchase at last year’s Louisiana QHBA Yearling Sale, the filly has earned $315,979 from six outs, and her four wins include a head victory in the 330-yard, $329,000 Louisiana Breeders’ Lassie Futurity (RG2) at Delta Downs on July 3.

Sheza Freighttrain T drew post 2 and will be ridden by Rolando Pina for trainer Eric Long.

Other contenders include Sir Louisiana Dash, a graded stakes winning son of Sir Runaway Dash trained by Hector Alcala for owner Rogelio Marquez Jr. The gelding has won two of four races, including the 330-yard, $358,000 Louisiana Breeders’ Laddie Futurity (RG2) on the Fourth of July, and he has banked $187,600.

Sir Louisiana Dash drew post 10 and will be ridden by Raul Ramirez Jr.

The complete lineup, in post position order including jockey assignments and morning-line odds:

  1. BP Fancy Girl (Everardo Rodriguez), 8-1
  2. Sheza Freighttrain T (Rolando D. Pina), 7-5
  3. TDZ Shes A Runaway (David Alvarez), 30-1
  4. Ought To Go Tee (Luis Vivanco), 6-1
  5. TMF Rogue Runner (Bobby Ransom) 30-1
  6. Jess Sweet Time (Juan F. Garcia Jr.), 8-1
  7. Apollitical Bye (Leonardo Rodriguez), 20-1
  8. Sheza Zoomin Memory (Ali Rivera), 30-1
  9. Ms Runaway Presence (Noe Castaneda), 8-1
  10. Sir Louisiana Dash (Raul Ramirez Jr.), 10-1
  11. A Political Rose (Luciano Duenez), 8-1
  12. He B Swift (Francisco Calderon), 15-1

A field of 12 state-bred sophomores is entered in Saturday’s 400-yard, $100,000 Louisiana Champions Day Derby (RG3).

Jose U. Oviedo’s Jess U R Blue returns to Louisiana and shortens in distance off of his sixth-place finish, 1 3/4 lengths behind winner Perrys Double Down, in the 440-yard, $393,000 Texas Classic Derby (G1) at Lone Star Park on November 28. Fernando Lopez trains the gelded son of champion Jess Louisiana Blue.

Jess U R Blue drew post 6 and will be ridden by Luis Vivanco.

The complete lineup, in post position order including jockey assignments and morning-line odds:

  1. Good Timing Mann (Arturo Alvarez), 20-1
  2. Mardi Gras Paint (Raul Ramirez Jr.), 5-1
  3. HH Gailforce (Luis F. Ruiz), 8-1
  4. Brileys Prize (Heriberto Aguilar-Orozco), 12-1
  5. Apollitical Bug (Noe Castaneda), 6-1
  6. Jess U R Blue (Luis Vivanco), 7-2
  7. Patriot On Ice (Rolando Cabrera), 20-1
  8. RLR Coronas Girl (Juan C. Garcia), 20-1
  9. Special Politico (Luciano Duenez), 4-1
  10. Painted By Perry (Jose A. Rodriguez), 20-1
  11. Flash Of Light (Everardo Rodriguez), 12-1
  12. Jess Redwhiteandblue (Leonardo Rodriguez), 6-1

Larry J. Boudreaux’s Mpshinning will try for his fourth stakes victory of the season in Saturday’s 440-yard, $100,000 Louisiana Champions Day Classic (RG2).

The 3-1 morning-line favorite, Mpshinning is coming off of a 1 1/2-length victory in the 440-yard, $40,000 Mid-City Stakes (RG3) for Louisiana-breds at Evangeline Downs on October 22. The 4-year-old Mr Piloto stallion has won two stakes against open company, including the 400-yard, $40,000 Miss Polly Classic (G2) at Delta Downs on July 23.

Mpshinning drew post 10 and will be ridden by Everardo Rodriguez for trainer Adrian Huitron.

The complete lineup, in post position order including jockey assignments and morning-line odds:

  1. Five Bar Jewel (Victor M. Urieta Jr.), 12-1
  2. Eysa Jess Jumpn (Bobby Ransom), 5-1
  3. Fabulously Black (Juan F. Garcia Jr.), 12-1
  4. Lightemupwithcharm (Luciano Duenez), 4-1
  5. Barjaxs (Donald Watson), 8-1
  6. Happie Happie Happie (David Alvarez), 8-1
  7. Achievopiloto (Jose A. Rodriguez), 20-1
  8. No Politics Here (Noe Castaneda), 6-1
  9. Tuckers Prize (Raul Ramirez Jr.), 6-1
  10. Mpshinning (Everardo Rodriguez), 3-1

All Fair Grounds races can be seen at

Courtesy Ses