Hall of Fame January  19, 2018

The Louisiana Quarter Horse Breeders' Association Hall-of-Fame showcases the many horses and people who have earned the distinction of becoming part of Quarter Horse Racing history in Louisiana. To be part of the Hall-of-Fame, horses and people must have been outstanding over a period of years in a variety of categories. They must have brought exceptional visibility and/or contribution to Quarter Horse Racing and the State of Louisiana.

Hall-of-Fame inductees are chosen each year by a selection committee and are honored at the annual LQHBA Awards Banquet. The inaugural inductee class were announced in January 2016 and will be honored Saturday April 9 at the LQHBA Awards Banquet in the Evangeline Downs Event Center beginning at 5:00 p.m. (CST).

A special thank you to Martha Claussen for research and writing bios and to Speedhorse and TRACK magazines for helping track down photos of these inductees from their archives.

The inductees have each played a significant role in Louisiana Quarter Horse industry. Inductees into the Louisiana Quarter Horse Breeders' Association Hall-of-Fame are:


  • Claude & Bessie Jeane
  • Leverne Perry
  • Lee Berwick
  • W.A. Darling


  • Oh Black Magic
  • Rockets Magic
  • Royal Bushwhacker
  • Go Vicki Meyers
  • Hesajoy
  • Streakin La Jolla

Below are photos of each Hall of Fame member inducted in 2017. Click their photo or name in the left toolbar to read their biographical information. To view previous Hall-of-Fame member bios click on "PEOPLE" or "HORSES" in the left tool bar.