News December  6, 2022

LQHBA To Award Scholarships On Louisiana Million Night

Scholarship winners (front) Sarah Blanchard, Krista Romero, Madison Poirier, Emma Smith, Connor Balthazar join LQHBA Staff and Board Members Jerome Bellard, Kirt Chaisson , Leigh Perry, D. Michael Hayes, Steve Whittington and Bruce Salard.

© Coady Photography

OPELOUSAS, LA—DECEMBER 207, 2021—Four $5,000 scholarships were awarded during a live drawing in the Evangeline Downs winner's circle on Saturday (Dec. 18th).

Potential applicants had to register in person at the racetrack and be present to win.

Scholarship winners named Saturday night, prior to the $1-million LQHBA Louisiana Million Futurity(RG1), were Sarah Blanchard, Krista Romero, Madison Poirier, Emma Smith, and Connor Balthazar.

LQHBA Executive Director Bruce Salard and LQHBA Board members Kirt Chaisson, Jerome Bellard, Leigh Perry, Steve Whittington and D. Michael Hayes were on hand to present the scholarships to each student.

LQHBA has awarded more than $700,000 in scholarships to the youth of Louisiana through this program.

For additional information visit the association's website at

Courtesy Ses